Course Content

Course Description

Enroll in this course now before it is archived on October 25th

Welcome to the ISC2 Certified Cloud Security Professional course! Your instructor for this CCSP training class is Kelly Handerhan and we're very excited to offer this course to you. It's no secret that organizations have been steadily making the move to the "cloud." These organizations are taking advantage of savings both in costs as well as reduced maintenance overhead by leveraging a wide variety of hosted services that all end with the ubiquitous "as a service" or "-aaS" suffix. These hosted services range from software (SaaS), storage, and even entire platforms (PaaS) and infrastructure (IaaS). But along with the convenience and cost-savings, come threats. Unfortunately, simply moving things offsite doesn't relieve organizations of the associated security responsibilities. Far from it! The reality is that attackers never rest, and along with the traditional threats targeting internal networks and systems, an entirely new variety specifically targeting the cloud has emerged. This is why the CCSP certification is such a hot cert right now. The content of this course consists of six video modules covering the six "domains" of cloud security. Before digging into the CCSP training, it should be pointed out that the requirements for the ISC2 certification are on the strict side: five years of IT experience with three of those years in security and one in a cloud security domain, which are described further down. The CCSP exam is four hours long and consists of 125 questions—all multiple choice. The minimum passing score is 700 out of a possible 1000 points. With the proper prerequisites and preparation, the exam is quite doable and this training series should get you off to a great start! Would you like to become a network engineer? This class is one step in that direction thanks to Cybrary's Career Path program. CCSP Training Course Details: - Length: 5.5 hours - CEU / CPE: 6 - Instructor: Kelly Handerhan

What is CCSP?

CCSP is the acronym for Certified Cloud Security Professional. It is a fairly new certification, introduced in 2015 by the ISC2 and the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), that was created due to the increased popularity of the cloud and the security risks that came along with it. The designation signifies that individuals who have earned it have a thorough understanding of the security associated with the cloud, but also with software, information and other cyber environments.

What Does the CCSP Training Course Entail?

Our online Certified Cloud Security Professional training course will provide you with the knowledge and skills to protect your organization's cloud environment. With more and more companies moving information to the cloud, it has become crucial to have experts in cloud computing. This course will allow you to become one of those experts. This training covers all topics related to CCSP certification, preparing you to successfully pass the certification exam. Upon completion, you will have comprehensive knowledge to understand the security challenges that are common to different types of cloud services, to select and implement appropriate controls to ensure the security of cloud environments, and the ability to identify, evaluate, and mitigate risks to your organizations cloud environment. You will take an in-depth look at all six core domains of the CCSP common body of knowledge: - Architectural concepts and design requirements

  • Cloud data security
  • Cloud platform and Infrastructure security
  • Cloud Application security
  • Operations
  • Legal and compliance

The total clock hours for this course is 5 hrs. 30 minutes. You will receive a Certificate of Completion when you are finished.

How Useful is CCSP Certification?

Obtaining your CCSP certification shows that you are a competent, knowledgeable, cloud security specialist who has hands-on experience in the field. Just by having the certification, you will be qualified for a number of job opportunities and a better salary. Some of the common job titles for CCSP certified employees include: - Security Administrator

  • Security Manager
  • Security Architect
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Consultant
  • Systems Engineer
  • Systems Architect
  • Enterprise Architect

This, of course, isn't an exhaustive list. The above job titles could potentially represent many different roles within an organization. Becoming CCSP certified also means that you will likely be able to secure a higher salary than counterparts without certification. Exact salaries are hard to quote because the positions and organizations for CCSPs is so varied.

What Does a Certified Cloud Security Professional Do?

A major part of being a Certified Cloud Security Professional is identifying critical information and executing the measures that reduce or eliminate the risk of exploitation for organizations. Knowledge of cloud architecture is needed to run and manage it. Some of the responsibilities of a CCSP may include: - Building and implementing infrastructures for cloud environments

  • Operating and overseeing infrastructures for cloud environments
  • Managing physical infrastructures for cloud environments
  • Building and operating logical infrastructures for cloud environments
  • Ensuring compliance with regulation and controls
  • Conducting risk assessments of physical and logical infrastructures
  • Understanding how to acquire, collect and preserve digital evidence
  • Managing communication with and identifying relevant parties
  • Auditing and monitoring of tools, mechanisms, and facilities

What is Involved in the CCSP Certification Exam?

The CCSP certification exam is a four-hour exam with 125 multiple-choice questions. You must earn at least 700 out of 1,000 points to successfully pass. The exam covers the six CCSP domains, which are individually weighted as follows: - Architectural concepts and design requirements – 19%

  • Cloud data security – 20%
  • Cloud platform and Infrastructure security – 19%
  • Cloud Application security – 15%
  • Operations – 15%
  • Legal and compliance – 12%

You also must have the following to qualify for certification: - At least five years paid work experience in information technology

  • Three of the five years must consist of work in information security, and one year in one or more of the six domains (above)